I Got Married On A Tuesday

When we sent out our wedding invitations what feels like a year ago, the first response we received from most people was, “You’re getting married on a Tuesday?” Evidently Tuesday weddings are not popular.

Brian & Stephanie

Despite our wedding being on a Tuesday, it was perfect. In fact, it was the only day of that week that it did not rain. Tuesday may be my new favorite day.

Getting ReadyWe had our ceremony at Disney’s Wedding Pavilion, which was my childhood dream come true. We exchanged vows at noon, surrounded by our nearest and dearest friends & family. Of all the walks I’ve taken with my Dad, this one will always be my favorite.

Walking Down the AisleMy handsome groom waited for me at the altar. Thankfully I added that reminder to his calendar…

IMG_2121We were so incredibly blessed to have the individuals that did, stand beside us on our day. While Brian had his childhood best friend as his Best Man, my sister-in-law Kirsten was the World’s Most Amazing Matron of Honor. Our officiant has been a longtime friend to both Brian & myself. He has helped me grow in more ways than I could credit him for and we were so honored and thankful to have him be such a special part of the start of our lives together.

The KissAll of our guests though were special to us and in some way helped to bring us both to where we were that day. Our reception was the perfect was to celebrate with them. And eat cake…

Cake CuttingAnd while there were so many great memories that it would be hard to choose a favorite, one of them would be dancing with the life of the party, my Grandpa.

Dancing with Grandpa

Photo Credit: Disney Wedding Photography

Many people say they feel no differently after marriage, I am not one of those people. I love the feeling of finally being “one,” of committing so seriously to another and absolutely surrendering all of the trust in the world into that individual. To fully depend on them, in sickness and in health, for better or worse. It is the most vulnerable and frightening thing to let all walls down and dedicate yourself to a lifetime of come what may, but it is also one of the most incredible and rewarding feelings as well.

PhotoCredit: Disney Wedding Photography

Photo Credit: Disney Wedding Photography

And so I will close with one of my favorite verses from our sermon, which I feel perfectly captures what marriage is. Thanks again to all those who have sent their congrats and well wishes, we are so thankful and blessed to be so loved!

Walking down the aisle

Photo Credit: Disney Wedding Photography

“A good marriage must be created. In marriage the “little” things are the big things. It is never being too old to hold hands. It is remembering to say, “I love you” at least once a day. It is never going to sleep angry. It is standing together and facing the world. It is speaking words of appreciation, and demonstrating gratitude in thoughtful ways. It is having the capacity to forgive and forget. It is giving each other an atmosphere in which each can grow. It is a common search for the good and the beautiful. It is not only marrying the right partner — it is being the right partner.”

Cheers,

The Mrs.

24 thoughts on “I Got Married On A Tuesday

  1. Jeff Walker says:

    Congratulations Stephanie! What a beautiful wedding and celebration (with cake!). Here’s to an even more beautiful marriage and lifetime together “as one”. Buster sends his congratulations and best wishes on to Moo, as well. 🙂

  2. Daniel Konar says:

    You asked me what picture would go well in the diptych. The picture walking you down the isle. You look beautiful. Love, Dad

  3. Jessica says:

    I’ve said it once, I’ll say it a thousand times. You make an absolutely beautiful bride, Steph! Congratulations to you, the Mr., and your fur baby on your new lifelong journey. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts Here: